Tuesday, 27 August 2013

Arundel Castle

Arundel Castle is the seat of The Dukes of Norfolk and set in 40 acres of sweeping grounds and gardens, open to visitors seasonally for nearly 200 years. It is one of the great treasure houses of England, each having its own unique place in history and is home to priceless works of art. Unfortunately no photography is allowed in the castle so I am unable to show you the paintings and furniture, tapestries and stained glass, china and clocks, sculpture and carving, heraldry and armour that is in each room setting showing the true grandeur of the castle. Even though the castle is filled with so many beautiful items it is still light and airy and very much a family home not a castle showing historical artefacts. We climbed the 131 steps up to the Keep, the views of the River Arun, the sea, the town and the Downs are were worth the effort. Arundel Castle is now the home of The Duke and Duchess of Norfolk and their children.

It was established by Roger de Montgomery on Christmas Day 1067. Roger became the first to hold the earldom of Arundel by the graces of William the Conqueror. The castle was damaged in the English Civil War and then restored in the 18th and 19th centuries. From the 11th century onward, the castle has served as a hereditary stately home and has been in the family of the Duke of Norfolk for over 400 years. 


The Keep 1190AD

The Well 45 metres deep

The Portcullis 

Officer's Room

Founded in 1390 by the 4th Earl of Arundel and situated in the grounds of Arundel Castle, the Fitzalan Chapel is still the burial place of the Dukes of Norfolk. It is a fine example of Gothic architecture with a carved timber roof and choir stalls. The carved stone tombs are of major artistic interest.

In 1879 it was determined that the Chapel did not form part of the Protestant parish church but was an independent ecclesiastical structure and therefore remains Catholic. A glass wall now divides the Chapel from the parish church; an unusual, if not unique, anomaly in England.

14th Century Fitzalan Chapel

The garden is divided into formal courts with a centre canal pond, tufa lined cascade and wild flower labyrinth. The planting is restrained with scented magnolia grandiflora, Indian Bean Trees, shrubs and semi-tropical plants taking advantage of the walls to trap heat.

The centrepiece of the garden is set on top of a rockwork mountain planted with palms and unusual ferns to represent another world, supporting a green oak version of Oberon's Palace a fantastic spectacle designed by Inigo Jones for Prince Henry's Masque on New Year's Day 1611, flanked by two green oak obelisks. This contains a shell lined interior with a stalagmite fountain and gilded coronet dancing on a jet of water.

Barn Owl
The Old Printing Works Arcade an Edwardian themed shopping arcade. The arcade was originally built in the 1850’s as the town’s local printing press, where the local newspaper the West Sussex Gazette was printed. When that business closed the premises were refurbished into the shopping arcade.  T

The Old Printing Works Arundel

This store deals solely in walking sticks, antique and new. Stocking country walking sticks, hiking staves, classic and traditional canes from "everyday" walking sticks to individually designed "Avenue Canes"
in exotic woods, horn, silver, gold, etc.

No comments: